Faculty & Staff

Walck Scott N. Walck, Professor and Department Chair of Physics
B.S., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; M.S., Lehigh University; Ph.D., Lehigh University

He is interested in mathematical physics and quantum information theory, especially the characterization of quantum states based on entanglement. He typically works with one to six students each summer as part of Lebanon Valley College's Mathematical Physics Research Group. In 2009, he received the Vickroy Award for distinguished teaching.

Telephone: 717-867-6153
Address: Neidig-Garber 223
Email: walck@lvc.edu



Day Michael A. Day, Professor of Physics; Director of Engineering
B.S., University of Idaho; M.A., University of Nebraska, Ph.D., University of Nebraska, (philosophy); M.S., University of Nebraska; Ph.D., University of Nebraska (physics)

Dr. Michael Day has two doctorates: one in physics, one in philosophy. His thirty-plus publications are in theoretical physics (specializing in anharmonic solids), the history and philosophy of science, and the teaching of physics. During the last several years, he has focused on the views of American Cold War physicists on science and society with extensive work on Robert Oppenheimer, I. I. Rabi, and E. U. Condon. For this research, he was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2010. He is currently writing a book on Oppenheimer. In addition, he worked for Shell Oil as a geophysicist and spent one year teaching in China. In 1999, he received the Vickroy Award, the College’s highest award for teaching.

Telephone: 717-867-6151
Address: Neidig-Garber 224
Email: day@lvc.edu



Hurst Barry L. Hurst, Associate Professor of Physics; Director of Physics Track for Engineering
B.S., Juniata College; Ph.D., University of Delaware.

Telephone: 717-867-6150
Address: Neidig-Garber 222
Email: hurst@lvc.edu



Matthew T. Blaisse, Adjunct Instructor in Physics

Telephone: 717-867-6140
Address: Neidig-Garber 219
Email: mblaisse@lvc.edu



Thomas Grant Hollingsworth, Adjunct Instructor of Physics

Telephone: 717-867-6152
Address: Neidig-Garber 219
Email: hollings@lvc.edu



Velkley Donald Edward Velkley, Adjunct Instructor of Physics

Telephone: 717-867-6152
Address: Neidig-Garber 219
Email: velkley@lvc.edu



Jacob L. Rhodes, Professor Emeritus of Physics
B.S., Lebanon Valley College; Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania.

His background is nuclear physics with interests in the relationship of physics and society.

Email: rhodes@lvc.edu



Support Staff

West Barbara Elaine West, Administrative Assistant for Physics and Chemistry
B.A., Lebanon Valley College

Telephone: 717-867-6140
Address: Neidig-Garber 415
Email: west@lvc.edu